The Listener 2.0

In Our Time…Senator Barack Obama

In Our Life Time….

By: Big Brother

Ladies and Gentlemen: we are in the midst of history! In our life time as young African American men, we were told by our parents, teachers, and other important political figures that we would never see or have a black man as President. Not only are we about to possibly break that trend, but we are about to be tested with everyone’s reaction whether Senator Barack Obama wins or loses this election.

Let me set the record straight, first of all I’m not voting for Senator Barack Obama because he is a Bi-racial Presidential candidate, I’m voting for Senator Obama because I’m a democrat, and I truly believe Senator Obama is sent by GOD to take our country to the next phase concerning the economy, the wars, and the prosperity of the people.

On November 4, 2008 millions of people will go to the polls, and cast their vote for the highest office in the world, and the outcome will be a surprise and a celebration for some. In a class discussion, someone asked me a question that went like this: “Andre, can I ask you something without offending you?” My reply was sure. The person asked me if I was voting for Senator Barack Obama because he was black! Naturally, I was a little pissed off, however I used Godly wisdom and I replied like this: “Are you voting for John McCain and every other Presidential candidate because they are white? And the gentlemen said explain your questions. I replied with the following: for years white men have been in the position of President of the United States of America, and no one has ever asked if we were voting for that person because of the color of their skin, naturally you couldn’t because up until now all of the candidates have been white. So it shouldn’t make a difference on why I’m voting for Barack Obama for President. So, with that said, YES I’m voting for Barack Obama because he is 1) Qualified 2) Has an incredible economic plan 3) With the help of Senator Joe Biden he will remove us from the useless war 4) Will provide the change that America Needs 5) It will be a fresh start for America 6) John McCain is nuts, and has publically said and I quote “spreading the wealth is the most ridiculous thing that I’ve ever heard, and I would never do that.”

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Thurgood Marshall, Colin Powell, Benjamin Banneker, Zora Neale Hurston, Dr. Marva Collins, Rosa Parks, Malcolm X, and the list can go on and on concerning popular and effective African Americans. We can now proudly add Senator Barack Obama to the list. Senator Barack Obama: the first African American to win a major party’s Presidential nomination 2) One of the youngest Senator’s in the Senate 3) Raised more money than any other Presidential campaign in history of Presidential Elections 4) Arguably the fastest rise to the top in political history 5) Hands down, one of the only politicians with great integrity. 6) Breaking racial barriers concerning the way people are voting.

As a little boy if you would have asked me if we would ever have a black President, I probably would have said no. Now as an older mature man who has the right and privilege to vote, I can proudly say that we are close.

From a historical perspective, our ancestors fought, pleaded, went to jail, and even killed for the right to vote. Who would have ever thought that that right would be granted, and then used to vote in one of our own people into the office of President of the United States? Its close, our time is now, the nations time is now, Senator Barack Obama for President.

Being able to live a great life, being able to worship and celebrate Jesus Christ, being able to be a college graduate, being able to live past 18 in Milwaukee, these were all questionable in a lot of young black men’s lives. In addition to that, being able to vote for a bi-racial or black Presidential candidate was almost impossible. It is now by the grace of GOD that I can add voting for Senator Barack Obama to one of my life’s accomplishments.

A now ask for everyone to say a special prayer for Senator Barack Obama and Senator John McCain. Lord protect them and their family, let your will be done in this election, and cover them and their family. We speak against all plots of death, and anger towards either candidate.

Let your voice be heard, be apart of a Change…vote on November 4, 2008 despite your party affiliation.

I proudly support Senator Barack Obama for President and Senator Joseph Biden for Vice-President of the greatest country in the world, the United States of America.

dredouglas@gmail.com

November 3, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment